Trying To Be ‘Me’

Looking at the fragile reflection

Broken and torn, searching for a reason,

Suppressed of pain and misery,

I realize I was trying to be me.

 

With no one to hear the cry

Wondering when it would all just die,

Waiting for the end of all

Trying to overcome this fall.

 

Of all that come and go

Remains only that which refuses to let go,

Through the darkest of nights

Comes the morning dawn, that would never go.

 

It all comes back with time

Of all the good and bad, again.

Like flashbacks that repeat,

I realize I was trying to be me.

 

Copy cats take grasp of my mind,

I tore up the closet in memory of the dead clothes,

Complained about the things I didn’t have,

What a fool I was.

 

Convinced myself that beauty was

But a matter of chance,

And everything else takes sheer talent,

I lamented for what I never had.

 

In all these times,

I realize I was trying to be me,

Too scared to be someone else,

Too scared to try to be myself,

All I was, trying to be me.

 

Have something to say? I'm Listening.

