Lessons from a Sudoku

I’ve never been in particular a Sudoku fan. While a couple of my friends were Sudoku geniuses, I was not even a beginner. The game of numbers and boxes never seemed to get into my head. Years later I taught myself how to play it, and suddenly out of the blues I decided to check my skills out today. As always I proved to be worse than a beginner.

A brain straining session and viola! it was solved. I’ve realized that I never enjoyed that game earlier because it took me a long time to solve it, particularly because if I put one number in the wrong place the whole puzzle became unsolvable. Then I had to go on tracking where I went wrong. It’s a tedious process, especially for a beginner like me.

But wait there’s something about the Sudoku that we’re completely missing out. No, it’s not the technical aspect, but rather the philosophical aspect. While solving the Sudoku of our lives we often misplace things, take wrong decisions, meet the wrong people. And our lives suddenly become a tedious process, just like solving the Sudoku. But hey it’s not the end of the world. It just means that it’s going to take a while to solve it. It does not mean the puzzle is unsolvable!

So what are you waiting for? Get your pencils and start solving the Sudoku, the more you practice the better you become, and of course it means less mistakes!

Have something to say? I'm Listening.

